Cherries in Winter came out last Tuesday, and some great radio stations have been calling to ask me what the book is about (and which are the best recipes for fall; I’ve been recommending the one for beef stew on page 149). Last week I was a guest on Gayle King’s show on Oprah Radio on Sirius/XM, which was total fun. I mean, what do you expect when you get to hang out with Gayle and her producer, JJ Miller? Those two are red-velvet-cupcake delightful.

(If we can share a technical moment here: I have no idea why this entire post is in italics. I tried to correct it, but no dice. Now it reads as though I’m either whispering or being emphatic, or whispering emphatically. I swear I meant to do neither, but if the itals increase the dramatic tension of this post, so much to the better.)

After the interview with Gayle, I hopped on an Acela to Philadelphia to be interviewed on WHYY-FM’s “A Chef’s Table.” But before that, I made a beeline for Philadelphia’s famous Reading Terminal Market, a food lover’s destination if ever there was one. I’ll post about that trip in a few days, as soon as I’ve recovered from the amazing apple dumpling I had there.

On Sunday I was a guest on Pierre Wolf’s “American Dining and Travel Guide” on the Business Radio Network. I found out that he comes from Alsace Lorraine, just as my great-great grandmother Matilde did, when we were talking about Matilde’s recipe for pork chops, sauerkraut, and apples, which Pierre called, “choucroute.” Somehow, that sounded more delicious when he said it than when I did.

Tomorrow, I’ll be on WMUA-FM’s “The Writer’s Voice.” With all these radio interviews I haven’t had much time for cooking. Thank goodness for John, our neighbor downstairs, who learned how to cook from his Italian mama and who sent up a care package of manicotti, hot out of the oven and heavy on the cheese. Now that’s the way to love thy neighbor.

See you soon!
Got a pen?

