I’ve been reading a great book called Real Food: What to Eat and Why by Nina Planck. This book is full of good news–milk, butter, eggs, and meat are good for us!–and bad news: Real food, meaning nothing that’s been raised on a factory farm, is hard to find.

I wrote in Cherries in Winter about how my grandparents were farmers when my Mom was little. She drank raw milk straight from the source–one of their herd of dairy cows, each of which had been named for a relative of Nana’s–for the first years of her life. Chicken was in the coop at sunrise and in the oven at sunset. Mom grew up on fresh dairy and meat, so she can relate to what Nina Planck, who also spent her childhood on a farm, is talking about.

One of the things Nina wrote about in the book is how she also eats a ton of fresh vegetables and fruit; she mentioned that she ate salad at every meal. I wondered how she did that for breakfast (though I’ve had salad instead of hash browns with omelets before), and that got me thinking: What would a breakfast salad be if one couldn’t face greens in the morning?

What I came up with was a variation on the classic Waldorf salad, using yogurt instead of mayo. I shredded a carrot with a potato peeler and combined that with an apple cut into small chunks. On top of that I sprinkled raisins, slivered almonds, cinnamon, and unsweetened coconut, and then mixed everything together with some yogurt (full-fat, the kind with the cream on top). I had a few leftover grapes from dessert the night before, so I threw those in, as well as sunflower and pumpkin seeds (I was really getting into this). Ta and daaaa! I had a breakfast salad.

Good morning!

Apples are great right now, as are pears. To them you could add celery, jicama, water chestnuts–the kind of vegetables that work harmoniously with fruit and add crunch. Then there’s dried fruit for texture: apricots, prunes, currants. If you decide to try the breakfast salad, please let me know what you variations you came up with in the recipe box!

