A writer friend of mine is pals with Mariska Hargitay, the gorgeous star of Law & Order: SVU. Said friend, whom I’ll call “David” (because that’s his name) told me that Mariska had her own website and that I should check it out some time.

I did, and I was very happy to find out that mariska.com was no vanity website to remind Ms. Hargitay how fabulous she is. Mariska runs the Joyful Heart Foundation, an organization that helps to heal and empower survivors of sexual assault, domestic violence, and child abuse. Mariska.com, the hub for Joyful Heart, is a fun, art-filled site filled with inspiring messages and recommendations of inspirational books. There’s also some really cool merch, like journals and t-shirts that read, “She Is Fearless”!

Mariska blogs on the site, and she also features guest bloggers; this week I’m honored to be one of them. I wrote about how the power of a group lifted me out of the ditch of the sadness and fear I felt after getting laid off last year. You can read the story here: http://www.mariska.com/blog/

I want to thank Mariska, her friend Rachel, and my buddy David for allowing me to contribute to website that does so much to alleviate suffering and to bring joy into the world. Mariska, in case you need reminding: You, and your Joyful Heart Foundation, are fabulous.

