My friend Emily had me at “chocolate.” Describing these morsels as chewy definitely lends something extra, but being a chocoholic (I’m woman enough to admit that), I was predisposed to liking these before I had them. Then I tried one, and then another to make sure that the first wasn’t a too-good-to-be-true fluke. It wasn’t. The addition of slightly salty peanut butter chips makes these, in my estimation, a durn fine baked good.

Ingredients (to make about 4 1/2 dozen cookies):
2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup baking cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/4 cups (2 1/2 sticks) butter, softened
2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 2/3 cups peanut butter chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Stir together dry ingredients and set aside.
Beat butter and sugar in large bowl until fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla and mix again. Add flour mixture in stages, stirring well after each addition.
Stir in peanut butter chips.
Use a teaspoon to drop dough onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 8 to 9 minutes, but no longer; cookies should be soft.
Let cool, then savor.

