I used to make New Year’s Resolutions every year, and they were so typical I won’t even bother boring you with any details. Let’s just say I hit all the classics involving self-improvement, and let’s just not say how the gym membership attendance would lapse severely by the end of February.

A few years ago, I made a different kind of New Year’s Resolution: no more resolutions that took place at the end of a December or the beginning of a January. This relieved quite a bit of pressure as I stopped setting goals that were way too high and destined for failure. It also cured my procrastination: Why wait until January to do something good for myself? What, I should go to hell in a handbag all through December?

Last week, I started training for the More Magazine Half-Marathon, which takes place in New York City on April 25, 2010. (I’ll be blogging about it on more.com.) Training doesn’t officially begin until January 4, but what, I asked, was wrong with good ol’ December 21 to start getting in the best shape of my life? Nothing–especially since I got a major current-Recession, pre-Resolution deal on a gym membership.

Do you make New Year’s Resolutions? Have you already started them, or are you beginning on, say, February 3? I’d love to hear about them. In the meantime, hope your holidays are lovely!

