As I mentioned the other day, I’m in training to run/walk/shuffle or otherwise move through the More Magazine Half-Marathon this April 25 (just a few–shudder–months away; read about it here). And as I also mentioned, this was a great way to burn off some cookies. A better way for me to bring less weight along for my morning runs would be to ease off a little on the cookies. Hey, one Everest at a time, okay?

As I try valiantly to recover from my holiday overdose of sweets and get this sugar monkey off my back, Gourmet.com, the online version of the stellar food magazine (rest in peace, dear Gourmet), has chosen to feature a timeline of cookies.

With photos.

They open with cookies from the 1940s, which are very reminiscent of Nana’s recipe for butter cookies from Cherries in Winter. They’re full of the good ol’, non-marathon training foods like butter, sugar, and white flour. Oh dear…

If you’re trying to keep your hands out of the cookie jar as one of those despicable but necessary new year’s resolutions, stay away from this link.

If, though, you’ve started a fitness program and are modifying your sugar intake to weekends like yours truly, you’ll enjoy looking at these yumlicious photos…with recipes. Visitor, be warned.

