The half-pound cake smiles for its close-up.

Just a few random thoughts before I head to my parents’ house to try to teach Mom how to blog (! I love that she wants to learn how to do this):

* I’m still grooving on this fabulous interview with the wonderful Faith Middleton on Connecticut Public Radio. I’ve been a fan of hers for a while, so it was pretty amazing to be able to do this great show on Cherries in Winter with her. Thanks, Faith!

* I was not grooving nearly as much on the various recipes I found for Lemon Poppyseed Pound Cake. Four sticks of butter? Five eggs? Is there a free trip to the hospital after that? Finally I found a sane recipe I could improve upon, so tomorrow I’ll be posting my recipe for Lemon Poppyseed Half-Pound Cake.

* I found a really cool website that has coupons (and more coupons!), and they also gave my book a nice thumbs-up. Thanks, DeAnna!

* Another radio note: Yesterday I was a guest at Cosmo Radio, home of The World’s Most Dangerous Flirt–that would be Patrick, host of “Cocktails With Patrick.” If you have Sirius/XM Radio, you must check this show out; it starts at 5 pm EST. Unfortunately CR doesn’t do links to their guests’ appearances, but this was so much fun I wanted to give them a shout-out anyway. I hope Patrick and his producer Lea enjoyed the butter cookies!

Okay, off to Mom’s for a computer tutorial. Talk about the near-sighted leading the bifocaled… Come back tomorrow for that recipe!

