Anything that makes my life easier works for me. And sometimes, the advice I read seems like something I might have thought of myself–if only I were a little saner and taking a breath every couple of minutes. Here are a few things I’ve found that have taken the pain out of thinking for me, and therefore, I heart them:

* This great article on the Huffington Post is about an amazing new way to lose weight and get healthier. It’s really complex and expensive, though. Ready? The article suggests going outside for a walk. I know, I laughed myself into semi-consciousness too. And yet… It’s just crazy enough to work. In fact, I’ve been doing it, and I lost two pounds last week and feel pretty darn good. Nutty, huh? What will they think of next…

* Jamie Oliver’s recipe for tandoori salmon from his Food Revolution book could NOT have been simpler, unless he’d come over to our place and made it himself. Then again, if he’d done that I would’ve felt obliged to entertain him, and that would mean work. Okay, back to me making it. These are my distilled-from-his-already-easy-instructions:
1. Cut a salmon filet into slices.
2. Marinate them in a nice store-bought Tandoori sauce, and saute in a pan.
3. While salmon is cooking, warm two pieces of naan bread in toaster oven.
4. Mix 1/3 of a chopped, de-seeded cucumber, 1/3 cup of low-fat yogurt, a squirt of lemon, and some cilantro together in a bowl.
5. Put the salmon on top of a piece of whole-wheat naan bread, top the salmon with the yogurt mixture, and eat happily.
The whole thing took about 15 minutes and required zero thought, except for how yummy it all was.

* Back to the Huffington Post again (I know–I’m addicted) for this great piece from Gretchen Rubin, author of The Happiness Project. I recently admitted that I’ve got a lot of unfinished projects lying around my office, shooting me accusatory looks. The Rosetta Stone Spanish language program, The Artist’s Way, my half-marathon training schedule, a few dozen books with marks stuck in the middle, etc., etc. At least my taxes are done. But back to Gretchen’s article: Her advice? Finish those projects or abandon them completely, guilt-free. A big duh, maybe, but sometimes you just need permission from someone that it’s okay (spoken in gentle, men-in-white-coats tone of voice) to do that.

If you know of any other great ideas that seem no-brainer-y but sometimes never occur in the midst of chaos, please list them. Here, I mean. Okay, off to schedule a deep breath…

